We’re making history here folks–I made my own icon set on a computer program I never ever thought I’d touch. I actually had a lot of fun watching this grow from an idea to a sketch to actual “ink” on the computer screen.

All of the following icons are of original design and were created by me Spencer Holdaway. No gradients, drop shadows, pixels, raster effects, or text were used.

 

Icon SetFINALx-01

 

Audience

I always loved learning about the stars and planets as I was growing up, it was always very fascinating to me. My audience is intended to be for older elementary school kids, perhaps in 6th Grade, that would be learning about astronomy.

 

 

Icon-SetFINAL_SunIcon SetPROTO-03

Design

I wanted the design of this to be engaging and colorful for the kids. I wanted it to be somewhat abstract in design, yet holding true to the over all shapes that children typically see these bodies portrayed as.

For some reason I loved the idea of the swirl within the circle. There’s something mesmerizing with having the swirl direct your attention to the center (or tip in the comet’s case), it then directs your eyes outwards to the rest of the object.

 

 

Icon-SetMOON_FinalIcon SetPROTO-05

 

Color

The colors were what I had the most fun with. Originally, I only had three shapes in mind and I wanted to use the main metal trio (gold, silver, and bronze) makeup the borders of each object–with each color being designated to the celestial body that typically shows the most light in our sky, (a gold “medal” for the sun, silver for the moon, and bronze for the stars). Their individual trim colors I based off of the primary colors–these are traditional colors used in the schooling younger school systems and I wanted to convey that thought with these.

For the individual placement of what trim to which main color, it was a simple matter of contrast. Silver usually is with blue, so I put it with a sharp red; while gold is usually with red, I chose a dark cobalt instead.

The comet was the last addition. I decided to pick green because it’s another common color despite it being a secondary color. However, once I realized that comets do burn green I absolutely had to keep it. Comets burn green due to the copper content; indeed, it is little wonder I decided to chose copper to complement the other metallic colors.

Icon-SetFINAL_STARIcon SetPROTO-02

Icon-SetFINAL_COMETIcon SetCOMET-06

 

 

Through trial and error, I believe these more simple designs (as oppose to my rather complex sketches) are more catching to the eye and far more memorable due to their simplicity.

 

Leave a Reply

