It’s another beautiful week in Rexburg, Idaho and I’m thrilled for the opportunity to share this project I’ve been working on! My instructor, Professor Lybbert, challenged us to make a magazine spread based on an article either taken from LDS.org or BYUIScroll.org. For this spread, I chose a personal favorite article of mine taken from the November 2014 Ensign found at LDS.org, (https://www.lds.org/ensign/2014/11/saturday-morning-session/which-way-do-you-face?lang=eng).

I heard this speech in a moment I needed it most–it struck me to the center and has molded my life for the last two years. Because of how it changed me, I wanted to create something that can change others–specifically my fellow students here at BYU-Idaho.

 

 

 

Design and Shapes

To be honest, this article cut at my heart when I first heard it. It really made me reflect and “look in the mirror”, so to speak. As such, I really wanted to focus on the hard, sharp edges of the frames to give it the look of mirrors; indeed, the decision to use mirrors as a theme came early on in the creation process. You’ll see those ideas throughout this blog.

 

MagSpreadJPEGTHIS ONE

Colors

The maroon and gray was an interesting choice. Originally, the model for pages 2 and 3 was wearing a maroon shirt with dark gray decals. I decided I liked this color combination and wanted to tie in that color scheme with the rest of my article instead of just red and black like I originally envisioned. However, I found that as I got the faces to the right size within the triangular frames, it entirely cropped out her shirt.

Though, perhaps by happy accident, I still enjoyed used maroon and gray. Maroon because its a warm color (so it pops off the page), however, at the same time it has a mix of cool blue that makes the otherwise demanding red a more mellow maroon.

I chose the gray because I didn’t want to do a hard black, but rather a softer hue.

For the intended audience, this colors both demand attention yet are calm and relaxing in a very paradoxical way.

MagSpreadJPEGTHIS ONE2

 

Photography

While I wanted to focus on the idea of the mirrors, I knew I needed something for the title page. I chose a beautiful blossoming tree in front of the communication and arts building because on the first page Robbins restates a scriptural story regarding a beautiful tree of life ladened with the sweetest, whitest fruit the prophet had ever seen. Though certainly not a fruit tree, the tree I used for my title page “[exceeded] all the whiteness” (1 Nephi 8:11) of all the trees on campus.

As for the model (who I shall call Sally) was to pose with two faces as a profile. One, I wanted a more withdrawn, depressed expression (as seen above), and the second one (seen below) I wanted her to laugh and to smile. In this way, the two pictures symbolize the message of each page: that of fear and of courage. Them face each other, towards the cropped, triangular tips, indicates direction (by the hard lines) and the idea of a mirror as they face each other.

MagSpreadJPEGTHIS ONE3

Typography

My typography choices were fairly simple. I chose Avenir Next (Heavy) for my headers and Charter (Roman) for my body text for the simple contrast of the two, with the easy readability of the headers with the clean, crisp look of the body.

For the pull quote I chose Apple Chancery. It’s clean, yet elegant–I wanted something that would stick out, yet also match the softness of the tree and the color choices.

Conclusion

Allow me to apologize if any of this has felt disconnected or jarring…despite my love for the spring and colors and blossoms, I can promise you that spring does NOT like me–my sinuses can attest to that.

Nevertheless, I have enjoyed working on this project. I believe that the crisp simplicity of this design is pleasing to the eye, and once reading the message it pleases the heart and soul as well.

Until next time, my friends. Take care, be happy, and stay blessed!

Credits:

All Pictures were taken by me, Spencer C. Holdaway

TreeofLifeKimFace1KimFace2

Leave a Reply

